Panzanella (Peasant Life Suits Me Just Fine!)

26 Aug

Yesterday was an uncharacteristically hot day, so I decided that my first dish should be something low fuss and super summery. Enter Rori Trovato’s panzanella (page 28), an Italian “peasant” bread salad. Check out the recipe here.

The original recipe makes 6 servings but since I was only cooking for 2 (me & my husband, Chad) I cut the recipe in half. The 1/2 recipe would have called for 1 garlic clove, but being a big garlic lover, I used 3. Next time around I’d probably only use 2. The halved recipe called for a 1/2 loaf of rustic country bread and I used the Farmer’s White loaf from COBS, which was perfect. Instead of using day-old bread, I hit the bakery at the very end of the day and that worked well. Kin’s, our local fresh produce mart, had no shallots in that day so I substituted green onions and that was fine. The recipe called for red wine vinegar but I didn’t have any on hand, so I used balsamic vinegar instead, and I liked the taste. Next time I’ll try the red wine vinegar though.

My favourite part of the recipe was using the perfect little cherry tomatoes that Chad had lovingly grown in a planter on our balcony. We’d been waiting a long time for the little guys to ripen and yesterday was our first experience enjoying them. They definitely added a nice home grown flavour to this simple meal.

We both liked this salad and I’d definitely make it again. It’s not fussy, has a classic combination of flavours and is perfect for a hot summer day. Chad wanted seconds (there were none) so I consider that a success. I look forward to trying another recipe…

6 Responses to “Panzanella (Peasant Life Suits Me Just Fine!)”

  1. Natalie August 26, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Sounds lovely and fresh for a hot summer night!

  2. Eugene O'Malley August 26, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    It worked for Julie Powell…

    Make this one and your man will love you:
    http://www.oprah.com/food/Beefsteak-Tomato-Tart-with-Asiago-Cheese-and-Thyme

    • mikafry August 26, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

      Thanks for the tip, Eugene. I absolutely LOVE tarts! Pastry with cheese and fresh herbs–what’s not to love? I’ll be sure to give that recipe a try. Always looking for new ways to please my hubby 😉

  3. Katy August 27, 2010 at 1:04 am #

    I’m always looking for new easy recipes to please the men in my life(Mike and Nicholas – and Cameron once he can start eating solids)…I will follow your blog for ideas and feedback! 🙂

    • mikafry August 29, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

      Hey Katy. The men in your life are lucky to have you! 🙂 Since I’d love some insight into cooking for young kids, please let me know if you have any suggestions for adapting or tweaking one of these recipes to make them more kid-friendly. Even something I could prepare on the side using some of the same ingredients would be great.

  4. Allison August 27, 2010 at 1:42 am #

    Hey Mika, Welcome to the blog world. I use my blog more like others use facebook but it is so much more fun for searching your history.

Leave a Reply

