Blueberry Buckle is a Bust

29 Aug

It’s 9:30 pm, we decided to totally forgo dinner, and I’ve just popped Melissa Kelly & Price Kushner’s Blueberry Buckle (found on page 250 of the Oprah Magazine Cookbook) into the oven. A mature choice for dinner, yes, I know! πŸ˜‰ As they say, you have to know the rules in order to successfully break them, or at least that’s what my grade 6 French grammar teacher once said, anyway.

The blueberries I picked up are from a local farm in Aldergrove, BC, called Westberry Farms. A quick Google search reveals (hey, I have to kill this 30-35 minutes of baking time somehow) that there are over 650 blueberry growers in BC! According to the BC Blueberry Council, “there are close to 17,000 acres of the richest fertile farmland nestled between the Pacific Ocean and the coastal mountains that are devoted to growing almost 80 million pounds with production increasing steadily. This makes British Columbia the largest producer of highbush blueberries in Canada and the second top producing region in the world...” This somehow makes me anticipate the Blueberry Buckle even more.

As for the recipe, however, I did make a few adjustments, which I actually try to avoid doing when I’m baking. I used to live in Pemberton, BC, where I worked for a short time as a morning baker and latte maker at a now-defunct little cafe called The Mountain Valley Grind. (That’s what I think it was called, anyway…that was during my Whistler party phase!) There I learned the hard way that baking tends to be more of a science (e.g., exact measurements produce the best results) whereas cooking can be a more flexible art.

Regardless, here’s what I changed this time around: I prepared the batter in my beloved Professional KitchenAid mixer, didn’t sift together the dry ingredients beforehand, but just added 1/2 of the dry ingredients right into the bowl, followed by the buttermilk, and then the remaining 1/2 of the dry stuff. I didn’t grease eight 6-ounce ramekins or souffle dishes–though that does sound like it would be awfully impressive for a summer dinner party–or even use the alternately suggested Pyrex pie pan. Instead I just layered the batter, the berries, and the crumble all in a big clay baker/casserole dish type of affair. (It’s a beautiful baking dish that my mother-in-law, Harolyn, gave us for our engagement. I’m pleased to report that it’s gotten a lot of use since then.)

Only 45 seconds until the Blueberry Buckle is ready, and I’m definitely not going to wait the recommended 20 minutes for the dish to cool.

Okay, what was that I just said about learning the hard way? My dessert, which I’d just heaped on top of some natural vanilla Breyers ice cream, ISN’T FULLY COOKED! 😦

I only had the dish in the oven for 30 minutes and I think it’ll probably take another 20+ minutes for the batter to fully bake. I’ve just put the dish back in (thinking now that my “just pile it all in to the clay baker” strategy maybe wasn’t such a good idea after all) and am sure that the fully cooked version will be much, much better.

Well, so far it seems as though my Blueberry Buckle is a bust. Next time around I’d opt for those sophisticated mini ramekins. And I’d follow the recipe exactly! πŸ˜‰

2 Responses to “Blueberry Buckle is a Bust”

  1. joan kiefl August 31, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    As luck would have it, Mika, I was able to taste your dessert today and I disagree with your verdict. I think it’s amazing and hope you make it again! It should be easier next time knowing it takes closer to 40 minutes to bake properly.

    • mikafry August 31, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

      Thanks, Mom. Glad you were able to taste it & that you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

