Chickpea & Rosemary Soup Good for Hummus Lovers

31 Aug

I had high hopes for tonight’s Chickpea & Rosemary Soup. I love chickpeas and rosemary, and since Chad worked outside all day in the rain today, I figured a warm, comforting soup would offer a nice way to warm up.

The soup, to which I added just a couple of extra garlic cloves, and an extra 3/4 cup of chicken broth to make the consistency more to my liking, is pretty good. It’s just a bit odd because it looks and tastes an awful lot like hummus. (I double checked this by bringing out the hummus we happened to have in our fridge.) Since only the addition of rosemary and the absence of tahini differentiate the soup’s ingredients from the dip’s, I guess it’s no wonder that they’re so similar.

One complication in preparing tonight’s dish is that the needed attachment for our amazing Magic Bullet (I love that thing, it’s been so useful!) just busted yesterday. This meant that I had to puree the soup in tiny batches, which was a bit irritating. Mind you, the recipe did call for pureeing the soup in 1-cup batches, anyway. I guess I was lacking a bit of patience. This forced small-batch processing made me nostalgic for the large, beautiful chrome KitchenAid blender that my old in-laws once gave me, which sadly went the way of my first marriage–the engine died and it is no more. And you think I would have learned a bit more patience by now! ๐Ÿ˜‰

As for tonight’s dinner…Chad said, “Wow, they’re not kidding when they call it chickpea soup. It tastes exactly like chickpeas.” “Do you like it?” I asked. “Yep,” he said, “I like chickpeas.” So, if you really like chickpeas and hummus, this might be a good dish for you. You can find the April Bloomfield recipe here or on page 59 of the Oprah Magazine Cookbook. It’s worth noting that this soup is healthy, easy to cook, economical and very filling. So filling, in fact, that Chad didn’t finish his heaping bowl. Might have had something to do with the steak he had on the side.

For me, however, this is not a make again. I adore soup–it’s one of my favourite things to both make and eat, especially in the fall and winter. There are just so many delicious soup options out there that a soup recipe would have to be outstanding to be voted a real winner in my books.

If you have an awesome soup recipe that you’d like to share here, please do! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

