Bring This Salad to Your Next Picnic

2 Sep

This morning I scalded my hand while attempting a complex culinary maneuver–making a cup of coffee! Luckily, it was minor, and I was able to easily whip up tonight’s feature dish: Moira Hodgson’s Sweet Corn Salad with Black Beans, Scallions & Tomatoes (see page 30 of the Oprah Magazine Cookbook or click here).

This salad (to which I made absolutely no adjustments) is healthy, quick and easy to make, and very colourful. It would be a great dish to bring to a potluck picnic–since there’s no dairy, it could safely sit for a while on a hot day. Chad said it was tasty and described it as a fiesta in his mouth! I liked it too, and while it wasn’t the best salad I’ve ever had or anything, it’s definitely a good basic salad to add to my repertoire.

2 Responses to “Bring This Salad to Your Next Picnic”

  1. Liana Stelting September 3, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    I love this recipe however the spice I use is a little different. Some olive oil with dash of sugar,cumin,lime and cilantro.

    • mikafry September 3, 2010 at 8:36 am #

      Thanks for sharing, Liana. I think cumin would be a wonderful addition to the dressing for this salad and I’ll try adding some the next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

