Friends, Food, Pasta & Tequila

7 Sep

There’s nothing like a long weekend to inspire getting together with friends to enjoy fine food, good conversation and fun times. On that note, yesterday was a busy day in our kitchen! First, our friends Jeff & Wendy and their adorable son, Ben, joined us for lunch. Since we’d so enjoyed Rori Trovato’s Skewered Spicy Shrimp with Grilled Watermelon and Laura Pensiero’s Salmon Burgers, we decided to make those again.

We didn’t change anything about the shrimp dish and the grilled watermelon was a hit. Like me, Jeff isn’t crazy about watermelon in general but he said he liked it grilled. We followed the burger recipe exactly this time, as we’d managed to lay our hands on some peanut oil and didn’t need to compensate with additional sesame oil. I didn’t notice much of a taste difference but enjoyed the burgers just as much as last time.

A few hours later, our friends & neighbours Johnny & Aj (and their sweet dog, Chloe) joined us for dinner. I knew it was going to be a fun night when Aj arrived with the all the fixings for a signature frozen cocktail–a blended blueberry drink “flooded” with mango tequila. Yum!

Again, since we’d really liked the very first Oprah dish I’d prepared & blogged about–Rori Trovato’s Panzanella–we decided to give that another try. The first time I’d made it, I substituted balsamic vinegar for the red wine vinegar the recipe calls for, but this time we had red wine vinegar on hand. It made the taste of the salad more subtle and I think it was just as good or even better. Yes, the salad was again a winner. What is it with women & our love of bread? 😉

Yesterday’s new dish was Susan Chumsky’s Spaghetti Carbonara, which you’ll find on page 196 of the Oprah Magazine Cookbook. Chad loves carbonara and a general love of spaghetti runs deep in the Fryling family. I’d never made carbonara before (I’ve historically been kind of grossed out by recipes that call for egg yolks and stuff) but I have to say it was really tasty, the egg thing wasn’t bad at all, and the pasta was another hit. It was a straightforward, easy meal, rich on taste. (We obviously liked it well enough because we just had it for tonight’s dinner too! Gluttony, anyone? It’s a good thing I walked for 2.5 hours today!)

Some time later we spontaneously found ourselves dancing in our living room (Johnny & Aj even brought over a strobe light they’d picked up at the Richmond Night Market!) and taking turns DJing via YouTube videos. Um, I did mention that we’d had tequila, right? 😉 Channeling his inner perfect baby, Jax slept right through the whole thing! 🙂

2 Responses to “Friends, Food, Pasta & Tequila”

  1. Harolyn Fryling September 13, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

    I did the salmon burgars but used our canned salmon as I am always looking for ways to use it up.The burgars were tasty but didn’t hold together as well I’m sure.If I did them again I would probably add some egg and cracker crumbs.

    • mikafry September 13, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

      Hi Harolyn,

      Glad you tried the burgers, we really enjoy them. They don’t hold together as well as they could and I think adding egg (& possibly cracker crumbs) sounds like a good idea. If you try them again, let me know how it goes!

      Next time we’re on Mayne I’d love for us to try Oprah’s crab cakes…and maybe even a Creole gumbo!!

      Best,
      Mika

Leave a Reply

