Sour on Spaghetti al Limone

12 Sep

“It’s the most thirst-quenching pasta I’ve ever had”

Today Jan & Chuck had us over for brunch at their lovely country home, and let me tell you, it was a foodie and flower lover’s dream! After feasting on quiche, yummy fruit salsa, spinach and berry salad, and fresh blueberry scones, we were led on a mini expedition to their back garden, where an abundance of lush, heavy flowers were bursting in beautiful shades of pink, red, coral and yellow. Jan handed us some shears and invited us to help pick our own big bouquets. Heaven!

Luckily, I was also able to score a large handful of basil from their garden, which was perfect for tonight’s dinner–Moira Hodgson’s Spaghetti al Limone. See page 190 of the Oprah Magazine Cookbook for the recipe or click here. We just finished the dish now and wow, was it ever lemony, even for a lemon lover! Chad said, “It’s the most thirst-quenching pasta I’ve ever had” 😉 and we both wondered if I’d misread the recipe.

Well, let’s see…the recipe originally makes 6 servings and I cut it down to 3. The full recipe calls for the juice of 3-4 lemons and I used 2, although they were very juicy & ripe. The half recipe also only calls for 1 tsp. of grated lemon zest and I was probably too liberal there too. So, although that fresh basil was nice and flavourful, we couldn’t really enjoy the dish because of its pucker-inducing intensity.

You know, there’s a simple Donna Hay lemon, cream and asparagus pasta dish that we like, and we also enjoy making mussels in lemon cream sauce from time to time. I’d rather get my lemon fix from either one of those (creamy!) dishes than try this plain Spaghetti al Limone again. That’s okay, I can handle ending on a bit of a sour note, because I had a really enjoyable day! 🙂

2 Responses to “Sour on Spaghetti al Limone”

  1. Harolyn Fryling September 13, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    I made this as a sidedish for Graeme and of course a main course for me.It was really good!!I halved the recipe like you Mika but I only did 1 lemon.I added garlic as one can’t have pasta without garlic!!!This will be part of my regular pasta dishes like your pea and pasta dish.

    • mikafry September 13, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

      Hi Harolyn,

      Glad you tried & liked the recipe! With just 1 lemon and the addition of garlic, maybe I will give it another whirl…

      Best,
      Mika

Leave a Reply

