I’m Not Just Saying This Because I’m Your Mother…

15 Sep

Well, I’m pleased to report that the Caramelized Onion & Bacon Tart was a resounding success! I’m also pleased to report that Uncle Freddie has arrived safely here in town. He’s a very special person–unassuming, but at the same time very, very wise. A great combo! (Much like the bacon and onion in this winning tart.) 😉

Truth be told, I didn’t actually get to taste this dish personally today, so I’m taking my mom’s word for it. Here’s what she had to say about it:

“..how wonderful to have the Onion Tart for lunch. I put it in the oven at 325 just until it was warm, about 25 minutes. It was a great choice for a casual Fall lunch. The sweetness of the caramelized onions was nicely offset by the crisp bacon and the cheesy custard. There was a hint of thyme…my favourite herb. The tart served with a few greens and Granville Island’s English Bay Pale Ale was the perfect way to welcome your Uncle Freddie to the West Coast. The only downside? That you and Jax couldn’t stay and enjoy it with us.”

Aw, thanks Mom! Now I’m sure it was very good, but if you happen to make this recipe, please write in and let me know how it turned out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

