Yummy Chicken in Peanut Sauce

17 Sep

What is it about old friends surfacing in my memory tonight?

Tonight’s recipe for African Chicken in Peanut Sauce reminds me of my old friend Sean Wilson, who long ago introduced me to a chicken dish cooked stove-top in a delicious peanut sauce. Fast forward many years later (some might argue lifetimes) and tonight’s incarnation still tastes just as good. Find Norma Jean Darden’s recipe on page 121 of the Oprah Magazine Cookbook, or click here.

This recipe originally makes 6 servings and I cut it in half–sort of. Instead of using 4 lbs of bone-in chicken pieces, I used 2 lbs of boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead. Years ago, when I was living with my friend Afke during university, I adopted a vegetarian lifestyle for a year. What is it about old friends surfacing in my memory tonight? Anyway, ever since then, the idea of cooking bone-in meat hasn’t seemed very appealing to me. I looked at the bone-in chicken at the grocery store today, seriously contemplated it, but just couldn’t bring myself to buy it.

I made the same amount of spice rub (salt, pepper, garlic, onion powder & cayenne) and peanut sauce (onion, pepper, carrot, garlic, jalapeno chili, chicken broth, peanut butter, tomato paste, tomato, fresh thyme, ginger, coconut milk, salt & pepper) as though I were making the full recipe. This made for an extra creamy, full flavoured dish, especially nice atop a bed of steamed rice.

According to Chad, this meal was “delicious and very good.” Since it’s kind of sweet (due to the peanut butter) and savoury at the same time (with lots of flavour complexity), I think it’s definitely a make again, but maybe not any time too soon. Next time I’d serve it alongside a bed of greens (as opposed to with the same-colour yam fries we indulged in tonight) or with some nice green beans or asparagus.

Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

