Savoury Pasta & Gorgeous Fig Dessert

26 Sep

Well, it’s been a few days since I last blogged about my adventures in the kitchen, simply because life’s been a real whirlwind of late. We actually just got back from Bowen Island this afternoon. We left Jax & Hiro with Grandma (thanks, Mom!) and escaped for a night at Ocean Light Cottage, where we tried infrared sauna for the first time and really enjoyed it. But, I digress…what I really want to do is tell you about the 2 fabulous recipes we tried right before we left.

First, Celia Barbour’s Bolognese Sauce with Pasta. (See page 194 of the Oprah Magazine Cookbook or click here for the recipe. Note that there’s a minor typo in the recipe online–simmering the sauce for 2.5-3 hours seems to suffice.) As the cookbook says, “this rich, meaty sauce simmers for hours, with spectacular results.” Indeed, this dish was easy, tasty, and wonderfully savoury. According to Chad, “it was like a tortiere in a pasta. Unique and delicious.”

The only catch was that I didn’t have the allspice on hand–either that or I was too lazy to dig deep enough into the depths of our disorganized cupboards. A quick Google search revealed that I could substitute cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and black pepper, and that’s exactly what I did. That mix seemed to work just fine.

The recipe also called for a cup of white wine. We happily obliged by opening a bottle of our go-to CedarCreek Proprietor’s White, which we bought from our absolute fave local wine shop, Kensington Square Wines. (If you’re in the area, you should check out one of their weekly Friday/Saturday tastings.)

Okay, as for dessert…if it weren’t for Oprah, I can almost guarantee that I wouldn’t have felt possessed to make Colleen McGlynn’s Fig Galette. (See page 248 of the cookbook or click here.) I have to say, though, this dish was simply gorgeous. The pastry was surprisingly easy to make, and the filling, which consisted of 1.5 lbs of fresh figs, and sugar, was equally easy to assemble. I would highly recommend this dessert for company, or when you want to serve something that looks like it took a lot more time & effort than it really did. πŸ™‚

Um, I do have to acknowledge, however, that I involuntarily added too much salt to the pastry. Somehow (and I blame the CedarCreek here) πŸ˜‰ my hand flailed excitedly, mid-sentence, and salt exploded in a *pouf* into my pastry mix! It was a minor setback, though–nothing that fresh whipped cream couldn’t fix. With the actual called-for amount of salt, the pastry would have been just perfect.

All in all, this meal was a definite success. I do hope you get the chance to try one or both of these recipes. Happy cooking!

3 Responses to “Savoury Pasta & Gorgeous Fig Dessert”

  1. Lynn September 27, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    The Fig Galette looks amazing! Hope you had a great weekend!

  2. Mary September 27, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Mika
    I’ll definitely try the fig galette, sounds yummy. We were picking fresh figs from the tree at the bastide in Provence just last week. And this week I’ve been eating a fresh fig every morning with my Italian breakfast!!!
    M.

    • mikafry October 6, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

      Glad you guys had such a wonderful time in Italy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

