Keeping the Vampires at Bay

30 Sep

As I sit writing this, I’m wearing the new “trend right” over-the-knee boots I scored from Winners yesterday. They go perfectly with the lululemon yoga pants I’m also wearing. 😉 In any case, I do want to tell you about the 2 new Rori Trovato dishes we tried yesterday–Cheesy Garlic Bread (see page 220 of the Oprah Magazine Cookbook or click here for the recipe) and Caesar Pasta with Baby Romaine & Parmesan (see page 198 of the cookbook or click here).

Okay, first the garlic bread. Truly delicious! This side could easily become a once-a-week staple. It’s easy–the recipe doesn’t require you to make your own bread. Plus the yummy olive oil, garlic, parmesan, fresh thyme, salt, pepper, paprika, and red pepper flake paste is really flavourful. (Please note that this is pretty garlicky and wouldn’t make great first-date fare!) The only change I made to the recipe was substituting extra parmesan cheese for the Pecorino Romano called for. Not sure what the flavour difference would have been–if I later try it with both cheeses, which I’m sure I will, I’ll let you know. This bread was very tasty. Chad loved it.

FYI, I just put a non-Oprah-inspired round of ginger molasses cookies in the oven. I’m clearly not on a diet these days!

Moving on, next was the caesar salad/pasta combo, for which I used fresh Duso’s linguine, and organic seasoned croutons. All in all, this dish was okay. Since I’ve really enjoyed most of Rori Trovato’s recipes in the cookbook (he seems to be a pretty regular contributor) I expected this dish to be a bit better. Not to say that it wasn’t good, because it was. It’s just that the flavour (even with the anchovy fillets, which initially slightly grossed me out, and the capers) was really quite mild. So mild, in fact, that for us it likely isn’t a make again.

The garlic bread? As we get ready to watch The Vampire Diaries, this garlic side is a resounding yes! The caesar pasta? Good, but not amazing. Mind you, the last time I said that about an O pasta dish, my mother-in-law Harolyn tried it and loved it, so I wonder if she might be a fan of this one too.

In the meantime, back to my cookies…

Leave a Reply

