Thai Chicken Coconut Curry Soup

1 Oct

Let me start by saying that I’m a real soup lover. Now that fall is upon us (not that you’d know it today, it’s so gorgeous out), it’s the perfect time to try Rori Trovato’s Thai Chicken Coconut Curry Soup. (See page 72 of the Oprah Magazine Cookbook or click here for the recipe.) I made this dish yesterday for the first time and highly recommend it. As the book says, “slightly exotic and completely delicious, this chicken soup needs no accompaniments. If you like coconut and curry, you’ll be in paradise.”

The dish’s flavour was nicely complex, which you’d expect from a simmered blend of cloves, fresh ginger, coriander, cumin, peppercorns, coconut milk, etc. The recipe actually called for 2 ingredients I don’t usually cook with but bought for the occasion; Thai green curry paste, and Asian fish sauce (nam pla). I was able to find them both at Save-on-Foods, so they’re definitely not that exotic, but nonetheless new to me. The curry paste was easy to use (it just came in a little jar) and the fish sauce, which honestly sounded a bit gross, wasn’t fishy at all. Since I’ll definitely be making this soup again, these new ingredients will be put to good use.

As for modifications to the recipe (why do I almost always seem to have at least one?) I just substituted regular onion for the shallots. More importantly, I didn’t use the 3/4 cup of cilantro leaves & stems they called for. Not that I don’t like cilantro (I love it!) but I mistakenly bought Italian parsley instead. Boo. On the plus side, the parsley still served as a nice garnish. Another plus is that this soup would likely only be that much better with the cilantro factored in. Alternatively, if you’re one of those people who just can’t stand the stuff (I gather it’s one of those things you either love or hate) I can assure you that it’s absolutely delicious without.

All in all, this is by far the best soup recipe we’ve enjoyed from the Oprah cookbook to date. I invite you to give this wonderful “fall forward” dish a try!

One Response to “Thai Chicken Coconut Curry Soup”

  1. mikafry October 5, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    Okay, so I tried this dish again with cilantro, and I have to say that both Chad & I prefer it without! If you give this dish a try, please let me know your thoughts. Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

