Halloween, Baby!

4 Oct

Now that October’s here, I’m starting to get excited about Halloween. I’d actually really been hoping for a Halloween baby last year. Naturally, however, Jax was on his own agenda, and he decided to hold out until November 7. It’s hard to believe our wonderful little guy’s almost a year old, but that’s another story…

Growing up, I still vividly recall the excitement of October 31. I loved the thrill of planning my costume (I usually favoured vampires and witches) and checking out other kids’ costumes too. I remember my childhood friend, Alistair, had an amazingly realistic Yoda costume one year. I think I took one look at him at him and quickly ran to hide under the rosebush on the front lawn. Or maybe I did that because I had a crush on him. 😉

I also remember our neighbour, Paula Zoubek, who offered us the only homemade Halloween treats we were allowed to eat. She made beautiful Smartie cookies in different shapes–choosing the special one that would be mine was definitely part of the magic. We always went to her house first.

The absolute best part of the night, though, was coming home with my sister, Sarah, quickly dumping all of our loot out on the floor, and proudly taking stock of our inevitably impressive collection of treats. We’d even engage in some highly heated trades. Mini chocolate bar? Score! Mini box of raisins? Not so much.

Although my favourite Halloween-inspired recipes have tended to come from Country Living magazine, and Martha Stewart, I look forward to trying the following festive dishes from The Oprah Magazine Cookbook: Pumpkin Applesauce Muffins, Pumpkin and Blueberry Tart, Pumpkin Fritters with Vanilla Ice Cream, Pumpkin and Maple Syrup Upside-Down Cake, and Pumpkin Soup with Crispy Sage Leaves.

Right now I have a decidedly un-pumpkin recipe on the go–Gail Monaghan’s Rosemary-Parmesan Biscuits, which I’ll tell you about later. The dough’s just chilling in the fridge right now.

In the meantime, if you have a favourite Halloween or pumpkin recipe to share, please do! I’m also still trying to decide what Jax should go as for Halloween this year…Chad’s suggested a Jax-o’-lantern. 🙂

2 Responses to “Halloween, Baby!”

  1. Natalie Marcotte October 4, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Brandy Pumpkin Cheesecake has been a modern favourite in the Quesnel household.

    Now that I’m allergic to pumpkin, Brandy Sweet Potato Cheesecake is also quite good!

  2. mikafry October 5, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    Sounds delicious, Natalie! Any chance of scoring the pumpkin cheesecake recipe?

Leave a Reply

