World’s Smallest Cheese Biscuits

5 Oct

I think they’d make a great little addition to a cocktail party. But, if I eat too many of these, I won’t be slipping into my little black dress for the occasion!

Yesterday I made Gail Monaghan’s Rosemary-Parmesan Biscuits, as featured here, and on page 220 of The Oprah Magazine Cookbook. The recipe suggests, “these small cheese biscuits are almost addictive.” Well, based on the fact that Chad & I polished off all the mini biscuits in one sitting, I’d have to agree that that’s true! Although they are small (like, they’re pretty much the world’s smallest cheese biscuits,) they’re probably a make again.

That said, the dough was very crumbly, and I had a hard time getting it to hold together enough in order to “divide the dough into 2 pieces and roll each piece into a 1.5 inch-diameter log.” It was so crumbly that I had to wonder whether I’d somehow missed a binding ingredient (egg? milk? water? more butter?) but I hadn’t. So, I decided to do a mini experiment.

I shaped one log together as-is, but I added a splash of milk to the dough for the other log, which immediately made it very easy to work with. Both logs were good, and looked and tasted pretty much identical. The only thing I noticed was an ever so slightly “milky” look to the experimental log. I’d love to hear your suggestions on how to make the dough less crumbly in future.

In addition to eating them just on their own, we crumbled 2 each atop of our (alas, storebought) potato/leek soup last night. They were a great soup topper. Chad also thought the biscuits would be delicious served with something moist like pate. Then again, he’s probably just looking for an excuse to go back to that wonderful pate shop on Granville Island. If so, I can’t blame him.

In any case, I imagine I’ll probably make these biscuits again around Christmas time. I think they’d make a great little addition to a cocktail party. But, if I eat too many of these, I won’t be slipping into my little black dress for the occasion! 😉

Leave a Reply

