The Pumpkin Appeared but Wasn’t So Great

8 Oct

Tonight we had the first of the pumpkin recipes from The Oprah Magazine Cookbook–Michel Nischan’s Pumpkin Soup with Crispy Sage Leaves. (See page 62 or click here for the recipe.) Even though I love soup and I love pumpkin, this dish was unfortunately not a winner. As Chad said, “Let’s never have that again.”

To be fair, it’s possible it might have been quite good had it been differently prepared. There are 2 things I would change.

First, less chili spice. The recipe called for 1 small Thai or jalapeno chili pepper, seeded and chopped. As luck would have it, we had a sizeable bag of lovely homegrown dried chili peppers in the cupboard, given to us by our friends Jan & Chuck. Well, I should have been listening more closely to Chuck’s instructions as I greedily ferried my peppers out their front door, because WOW, are they hot! Handling them and then inadvertently (oops!) touching my face actually left 2 temporary burn marks on my chin. (Don’t worry, I only used one pepper in the recipe.)

Second, the recipe called for either 3 green cardamom pods or 3 tsp. ground cardamom. That seems like an awful lot of ground cardamom. I put in slightly less than 3 tsp. but still found the flavour overpowering.

All in all, this soup was a disappointment. It was laborious and time consuming, and then, at the end of it all, the soup that had promised to “taste like the holidays” didn’t spread much cheer around here.

In closing, to counter this negativity I do have a wonderful pumpkin soup recipe to share with you; Country Living magazine’s Pumpkin Chicken Chowder, which I’ve made every Halloween for the past 7 years. Treat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

