Happy Thanksgiving!

10 Oct

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! We enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner last night at my sister & her boyfriend’s beautiful, absolutely gorgeous new home in Maple Ridge. I’d volunteered to bring dessert and decided to try Tom Bivins’ Vermont Maple Sugar Pie for the occasion. See page 244 of The Oprah Magazine Cookbook or click here for the recipe. My grandmother on my mom’s side, Bonga Fenton, was French Canadian. She always made sugar pie for special occasions, which made the idea of this recipe seem all the more appealing.

When I’ve made pies in the past, I’ve usually (and quite successfully) relied on good old Tenderflake pre-fab crusts, so making crust from scratch was a departure for me. The recipe called for vegetable shortening, and at first I couldn’t really remember what that even was. Spotting the classic blue Crisco box in the grocery store brought back fond memories of seeing it in Bonga’s and my mom’s kitchens growing up.

While the dough was surprisingly easy and quick to make, after an hour+ in the refrigerator, it was rich and quite crumbly, which made it tricky to work with. Luckily my mom was over, and knew exactly what do, liberally flouring the pin and adeptly patching the dough where needed.
The tasty filling called for a 1/4 cup of maple sugar, which I’d never heard of before, but was able to find on Granville Island. Among other things, it also called for 2 Tbsp. of fresh lemon juice and 1 tsp. of finely grated lemon rind.

The pie cooled in the trunk of the car as we headed out to my sister’s place.

After dinner, it was time for us all to indulge in some pie. When we realized that the only thing missing in my sister’s new place was a mixer to whip up the cream, her boyfriend cleverly attached a hand whisk to a cordless drill, and voila! we had a big bowl of perfectly whipped cream in no time.

I can tell you that every single piece of pie was eaten, and that it was a great success. My mom and Chad thought the pie was absolutely perfect as is, while my sister and I agreed that it might have been just *that* much more perfect with a little less lemon.

All in all, we had a wonderful family Thanksgiving get-together yesterday, and this memory-friendly Vermont Maple Sugar Pie will undoubtedly be a special occasion make again.

All the best to you & yours this festive holiday weekend! I know for sure that I have a lot to be thankful for. 🙂

One Response to “Happy Thanksgiving!”

  1. Victoria Westcott October 11, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    Wow – the drill idea was really great! Good thinking sisters’ bf!

    Can’t wait to taste some of the Oprah food myself someday soon… yum…

    I made an amazing cranberry sauce today (not from Oprah), which I found using the browser in my blackberry. It was ridiculous – I’d hold up the phone to see the recipe, scroll around making the ingredients smaller or larger depending on what I could see on the screen, and finally managed to whip something up. My sister commented, “hey! look at you! That’s an actual recipe Vic!” Yup. I rarely cook. It was a success. YAY!

    Happy Thanksgiving Mika! And Oprah (bc we know she reads this every day right), and your family!

Leave a Reply

