Family Friendly Pumpkin Applesauce Muffins

11 Oct

Since it’s Thanksgiving long weekend, I figured yesterday was a good time to try Nina Simonds’ Pumpkin Applesauce Muffins. Full of healthy things like mashed pumpkin, applesauce, apple juice, and raisins, these muffins are good for the whole family.

I can testify to their goodness because I’m contentedly munching on one right now as I’m lounging in bed. To make things even sweeter, Chad just brought me a fresh coffee in my favourite cup, and I can hear Jax happily playing with fun, noisy things like metallic bowls. With my lounge fest soon to be followed by a family walk on Burnaby Mountain, this holiday morning is nothing but bliss! 🙂

Here’s the skinny on these muffins. According to Chad, Mom & me, they’re:

1. nice & moist, probably courtesy of the raisins;
2. a good size;
3. sweet & savoury at the same time;
4. easy to make–I followed the recipe exactly, baking them for 25 minutes; and
5. substantial. On page 230 of The Oprah Magazine Cookbook it says this recipe makes 12 muffins, but the version posted online here says it makes 21 muffins, which is more realistic. I was lucky and got 24.

The only other thing is that the recipe doesn’t explicitly say to use muffin tin/cupcake liners, but the muffin pictured in the book has a liner, and some artful raffia tied around it!

I tried my first batch with liners and the second one without. It may have been because my adorable Halloween-themed cupcake liners were too flimsy, but the muffins sans liners were easier to work with, easier to eat, and prettier to admire.

Well, once again, Happy Thanksgiving. I hope that you’re enjoying a long weekend full of all the people, experiences & things that you’re most thankful for. 🙂

One Response to “Family Friendly Pumpkin Applesauce Muffins”

  1. joan kiefl October 11, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    Outstanding! Good for you and full of Fall flavour. AND…they’re not crumbly. Don’t you hate it when you bite into a muffin and it falls apart in your hand?!

Leave a Reply

