Orange-Ginger Pork Medallions & Brussels Sprouts with Chestnuts & Honey Mustard Dressing

30 Oct

Honestly, it’s hard to concentrate on anything but treats in the days leading up to Halloween. 😉 Plus, with my return to work this coming Monday–following a full year off on maternity leave–Oprah’s been a bit far from my mind. Not so far, mind you, that I don’t want to share a couple of new recipes with you. 🙂

First up, Laura Pensiero’s Orange-Ginger Pork Medallions. See page 98 of The Oprah Magazine Cookbook or click here for the recipe. We’d never made pork medallions before, but my mom happened to give us a couple of pork tenderloins, so we figured this would be the perfect opportunity to give these sweet-and-sour morsels a try.

The verdict? Delicious. The flavours of orange juice, peanut oil, fresh ginger, shallots, red pepper flakes, chicken broth, and soy sauce all came together quite nicely. And, since they were pan-fried, they were surprisingly easy. I think this dish would make a good workday family staple. (Ha! I may rethink that statement after I’m actually back to work.) 🙂

The second recipe (I guess we were in a festive mood) was April Bloomfield’s Brussels Sprouts with Chestnuts & Honey Mustard Dressing, which you can find on page 177 of the cookbook, or by clicking here.

Essentially, these were boiled and pan-fried sprouts drizzled with a lemon, olive oil, Dijon mustard, and thyme dressing.

The dressing was quite tasty, but I did find it a bit too time-consuming given the end result. For example, the recipe said to boil a lemon in water for a full hour (?) PLUS called for fresh chestnuts (a novelty for us–we found them at Kin’s) which also required boiling, simmering, draining, and peeling. Again, pretty time-consuming given the end product.

I’m not sure what effect it would have, but next time I might consider using the lemon without boiling it first, and also substituting canned chestnuts. I’d welcome any other suggestions!

Don’t get me wrong, these would make an impressive and welcome addition to the holiday dinner table. I just think I prefer the roasted Brussels Sprouts, lemon and pancetta recipe our CEO shared with us one year. I’ll have to be sure to get that recipe again before the Christmas holidays roll around.

Speaking of holidays, it’s official, this weekend Jax is going as a Jax-o’-Lantern, and Hiro is channeling Super Hiro! I hope your weekend is magical, delightful, and sweet. Happy Halloween!

2 Responses to “Orange-Ginger Pork Medallions & Brussels Sprouts with Chestnuts & Honey Mustard Dressing”

  1. Crazy Sweet Life November 1, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    These pork medallions look soo tasty! I hope your first day back to work went well – I’m on mat leave now, and can’t even fathom going back, although I’ll eventually have to…ah the struggles of motherhood:)

    • mikafry November 1, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

      Thanks for the well wishes. I’m pleased to report that my first day back at work was great. Enjoy the rest of your maternity leave! 🙂

Leave a Reply

