Quick & Healthy Garlic-Orange Spinach

7 Nov

Well, it’s official, my maternity leave is over, and I’m pleased to report that I had a great first week back at work. I liken it a bit to following a show like Young & the Restless…even if you hadn’t watched it in a year, you could probably still tune in and pretty much pick back up where you left off. There would be some new characters and twists in the plot, to be sure, but still…It’s good to be back. ๐Ÿ™‚

That said, I haven’t dusted off my Oprah cookbook in far too long. These work/grad school/volunteer commitments really seem to be cramping my culinary style! ๐Ÿ˜‰

So tonight, to complement the beautiful steak Chad BBQ’d us, I made Michel Nischan’s Garlic-Orange Spinach. This side dish is super simple, super fast, super economical, AND super healthy. All good things. It’s pretty tasty, too. Click here for the recipe, or see page 173 of The Oprah Magazine Cookbook.

The only change I made was using cold pressed, extra virgin olive oil instead of the grapeseed or rice oil the recipe called for. Not sure what the taste or texture difference would have been (?) but the olive oil worked just fine.

Even though this “just wilted” citrus spinach isn’t the best side dish I’ve ever had, it’s definitely a make again. Why? Because it’s super good for you and can be whipped up in about 5 minutes. Just perfect for a working mom! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 Responses to “Quick & Healthy Garlic-Orange Spinach”

  1. Harolyn Fryling November 8, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    I liked the garlic,orange spinach.Plain cooked spinach doesn’t impress me but this looked nice and a nice flavor.We had it with chow mein and pork strips.Will make it again.

    • mikafry November 8, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

      Glad you enjoyed it! I think it would go great with chow mein and pork strips ๐Ÿ™‚ Look forward to trying out Oprah’s crab cakes when we come to Mayne…

Leave a Reply

