Grilled Shrimp with Mango Salsa

1 Aug

It’s been forever since I last cracked open my beloved Oprah cookbook. I started this blog while I was on mat leave; somehow, crazily, I was looking for things to do at the time! 😉

Since I’ve been back at work, however, I’ve made little time for culinary capers. I miss trying new dishes that might be out of my comfort zone and the meditative act of writing about what we’ve eaten. I also miss your feedback dear readers–yes, that’s you. 🙂

I’ve resolved to write for a half hour every day in August, and with today being August 1, I figured resurrecting my blog would be a good place to start. On that note, let me tell you about the delicious Grilled Shrimp with Mango Salsa we had for lunch. (Check out the Nina Simonds recipe on page 154 of the O Magazine Cookbook or click here.)

This is an exceptionally easy and light dish to make, perfect for the summertime. Essentially, it’s just skewered shrimp (brushed with soy sauce and fresh OJ) grilled on the BBQ, with yummy mango salsa (think red onion, cilantro, lime juice and fresh ginger) on the side. Peeling, chopping and squeezing time included, the salsa only took 5 mins. Meanwhile, the shrimp were also ready in about 5 mins–especially easy for me, considering Chad was the one working his typical magic with the BBQ.

The only part of the meal I felt weird about was the packaged Uncle Ben’s basmati rice. I simply microwaved a squishy package for 2 mins and then–voila!–we had a nearly perfectly cooked side dish. I’ve always been slightly suspicious of microwaves in general. If you don’t happen to have similar reservations, this truly instant rice trick may just be the way to go. Given the amount of time saved and the potentially averted burnt rice/crunchy rice/under done rice fiasco, I reluctantly admit that I’ll try this again at some point. (Not for fancy dinner parties.) 😉

All in all, if you’re looking for a quick, healthy and refreshing meal to whip up this summer, give this Grilled Shrimp with Mango Salsa recipe a try. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

