Welcome, Fall

15 Oct

Now that fall is upon us (beautiful, sunny, Ontario-like out there today) I’m feeling almost biologically compelled to be in the kitchen, cooking and baking, cultivating and consuming warmth. Mmmm…

I’ve actually made a few Oprah dishes over the last while and sadly been too lazy to blog about them. Better to eat, sometimes, than to write. Here’s what I’ve tried:

1. Banana-Pecan Honey Bread created either by Susan Chumsky (according to page 22 of the Oprah Magazine Cookbook) or by Rori Trovato (according to O’s website). Baking this, Jax was a happy little helper. I remember “helping” my mom in the kitchen when I was younger and it’s neat to fast forward all these years and have my own mini assistant. He loved colouring the recipe and stirring the dough, anyhow! I wouldn’t describe this bread as extraordinary. It was pretty good but seemed like a bit more work than it was worth. I imagine there are better banana bread recipes out there.

2. Cuban Grilled Corn on the Cob with Queso Blanco & Lime by Rori Trovato (page 204). This is essentially just corn on the cob, grilled in the husk, rubbed with chili powder, paprika, salt, butter, cheese and lime. I didn’t track down queso blanco and just substituted mozzarella. Um, likely not as authentic. I can’t remember, but we probably made up for this lack of authenticity by having accompanying mojitos. In any case, this recipe was super easy and offered an interesting flavour twist to regular corn on the cob. We liked it well enough but aren’t in a hurry to have it again.

3. Spicy Shrimp with Basil by Nina Simonds (page 156). Now this was a delicious dish! Shrimp marinated in rice wine, soy sauce and fresh ginger, added to crisp-tender snow peas (which we like to eat but somehow rarely do) and seasoned with red pepper flakes, garlic, red onions, Thai fish sauce, sugar, and fresh basil. I love fresh basil. So delightful. This meal was quick, healthy, flavourful and one I’d definitely make again. Try it, I think you might like it.

Well, time now to head back into the kitchen. I have the oven warming up for cookies…

Leave a Reply

